Saturday, 9 July 2016


Top of Form

              Some time back in Aug 2014, I had in my blog, tried to put down a brief history of the Sikarwars.  Based on some more information  given by Indian  historians like Dr. Devi Singh Mandawa in his book “Rajput Shakhaon Ka Itihaas” and others ,I am continuing  my article on Sikarwars further.

             The battle of Kanhua ( also spelled as Khanwa- a village between Agra & Vijaypur Sikri) which was  fought  between Mughal  invader Babur  and confederation of Rajputs lead by Rana Sanga on 17 March 1527,was a major turning point  in the history of Rajputs. While the defeat of Rana Sanga resulted in a major setback to the confederation in general, it particularly proved disastrous to Sikarwars of Vijaypur Sikari.

             Babur destroyed the fort of Vijaypur Sikari and  re- named it as Fatehpur Sikari. Dham Dev  who had participated in the battle with his three sons, viz. Prithu, Ahaman and Ram Dhalku, had to escape from there  to take shelter in to the forest of Dhaulpur. However, soon  Dham Dev was able to re-organise his remaining force, captured the nearby fort of Sarsaini and handed it over to his youngest son Ram Dhalku. In present day scenario it could be safely said that most of the inhabitants of Chambal area are descendent of Ram Dhalku. Dham Dev also captured Khairagarh and its adjoining areas which he gave to his eldest son Prithu to rule. ( Some historians  have mentioned the name of Dham Dev as Dhandu Dev and as such should not be confused)

           With the aim to take back Vijaypur, Dham Dev along with his second son Ahaman, again fought with Babur near Agra. But luck did not favour him and he lost the battle. His son Ahaman too got killed in this battle. A number of similar efforts to establish its own kingdom continued by the Sikarwars but did not materialise. Thus finding no alternative they further spread in other parts of India


Monday, 4 July 2016



        The Emblem of the Indian State is an adaptation from the  Sarnath (Varanasi)  Lion Capital of Ashoka the great. It was adopted by the  Government of India on 26 January, 1950.

         In the original, there are four lions standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculpture in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell shaped lotus. Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by a Wheel of the law ( DHARMA  CHAKRA).

         In the State Emblem, only three lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view. The wheel appears in relief in the centre of the abacus with a bull on the right and a horse on left and the outlines of other wheels on extreme right and left. The bell shaped lotus has been omitted.  The words “ SAtyameva Jayate” from “Mundaka Upanishad” meaning  “TRUTH  ALONE TRIUMPHS” are  inscribed below the abacus in the DEVANAGARI script.